Forum Scholars

The Forum sponsors research and creates knowledge intended to inform campus policy and decision-making. Its research agenda focuses on new thinking and ideas likely to affect the future of higher education. Each year, 15–20 new Forum Scholars are designated, including among others:

Filter by Last Name


  • Daron Acemoglu, MIT
  • Anant Agarwal, MIT
  • Gen. John Allen, U.S. Marine Corps (ret.)
  • Norman Augustine, CEO (ret.) Lockheed Martin Corporation
  • David Autor, MIT


  • Col. Andrew Bacevich, Boston University
  • Larry Bacow, Tufts University
  • Sandy Baum, The Urban Institute
  • Donald Berwick, President (emeritus) Institute for Healthcare Improvement and U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
  • Robert Birgeneau, University of California, Berkeley
  • Rebecca Blank, University of Wisconsin
  • Alan Blinder, Princeton University
  • Anthony Bogues, Brown University
  • David Boren, University of Oklahome
  • Barry Bosworth, The Brookings Institution
  • William Bowen, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and Princeton University, emeritus
  • Gov. Phil Bredesen, Former Governor of Tennessee
  • John Seely Brown, Xerox PARC (ret.)


  • Adm. Ted Carter, U.S Naval Academy
  • Gen. Robert Caslen, U.S. Military Academy
  • Diana Chapman Walsh, Wellesley College
  • Clayton Christensen, Harvard Business School
  • General Wesley Clark, U.S. Army (ret.)
  • Jim Collins, Author of "Good to Great" and "Built to Last"
  • Mihaly Czikszentmihaly, Claremont Graduate University


  • Antonio Damasio, University of Southern California
  • Cathy Davidson, Duke University
  • Robert Desimone, MIT


  • Deb Fallows, The Atlantic
  • James Fallows, The Atlantic
  • Martin Feldstein, Harvard University
  • Niall Ferguson, Harvard University and Oxford University
  • Roger Ferguson, TIAA
  • Woody Flowers, MIT
  • Robert Frank, Cornell University
  • Richard Freeman, Harvard University
  • Benjamin Friedman, Harvard University


  • John Gabrieli, Stanford University and MIT
  • Howard Gardner, Harvard University
  • Leslie Gelb, Council on Foreign Relations
  • Neil Gershenfeld, MIT
  • Austan Goolsbee, University of Chicago
  • Robert Gordon, Northwestern University
  • Vijay Govindarajan, Dartmouth College


  • Richard Haass, Council on Foreign Relations
  • Rep. Lee Hamilton, US Congress (ret.) and Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars
  • Henry Hansmann, Yale University
  • James Heckman, University of Chicago
  • Linda Hill, Harvard Business School
  • Caroline Hoxby, Stanford University


  • Walter Isaacson, Aspen Institute


  • Harold James, Princeton University
  • Maya Jasanoff, Harvard University
  • Frances Jensen, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
  • Gen. Michelle Johnson, U.S. Air Force Academy
  • Simon Johnson, MIT


  • Rosabeth Moss Kanter, Harvard Business School
  • Juliette Kayyem, Harvard University
  • Sen. Bob Kerrey, New School University
  • Daphne Koller, Stanford University and Coursera
  • Alan Krueger, Princeton University


  • Karim Lakhani, Harvard Business School
  • Richard Light, Harvard University
  • Alan Lightman, MIT
  • Deborah Loewenberg Ball, University of Michigan


  • Burton Malkiel, Princeton University
  • Sebastian Mallaby, Council on Foreign Relations
  • William Massy, Stanford University (emeritus)
  • Gen. Jim Mattis, U.S. Marine Corps (ret.)
  • Eric Mazur, Harvard University
  • Gen. Montgomery Meigs, U.S Army (ret.)
  • Louis Menand, Harvard University
  • RIchard Miller, Olin College of Engineering
  • John Mitchell, Stanford University
  • Adm. Michael Mullen, U.S. Navy (ret.)


  • Stanley Nelson, Firelight Media
  • Martha Nussbaum, University of Chicago
  • Joseph Nye, Harvard University


  • Peter Orszag, OMB and CBO


  • Steven Pinker, Harvard University
  • Jim Plummer, Stanford University
  • Michael Porter, Harvard Business School
  • Amb. Samantha Power, United Nations and Harvard University
  • Robert Putnam, Harvard University


  • V.S. Ramachandran, University of California, San Diego
  • Gen. Eugene Renuart, U.S. Air Force (ret.)
  • Mitchell Resnick, MIT Media Lab
  • Kenneth Rogoff, Harvard University
  • Christina Romer, University of California, Berkeley


  • Jeffrey Sachs, Columbia University
  • Mehran Sahami, Stanford University
  • Morton O. Schapiro, Northwestern University and Williams College
  • Robert Shiller, Yale University
  • Debora Spar, Barnard College
  • Adm. James Stavridis, U.S. Navy (ret.) and The Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University


  • Candace Thille, Stanford University and Carnegie Mellon University
  • Sebastian Thrun, Udacity and Stanford University
  • Lester Thurow, MIT
  • Uri Treisman, University of Texas, Austin
  • Peter Tufano, Oxford University and Harvard Business School